Purple’s Delight

Posted on Updated on

Hello!

In my last post, I spoke about mother’s day. I don’t know if anyone noticed the shades of pink that was involved in the inspiration board? Hmm…I guess not. Not to worry, I’ll refer to it soon.  I also mentioned in my last post that I was going to talk about the love of Purple by two friends of mine. i have come to appreciate the colour now more than ever before. So, I here by dedicate this post to my dear friends “FahLily” and “Mizez Smalls”, the true lovers of Purple’s Delight!

So let’s start with a brief story of Purple.

Once upon a time, there were 3 prominent families of the Primary Colours Kingdom, far far way. The families were Red, Yellow and Blue.  They were the great descendants of White and Black. One day, the families of Red and Blue decided to arrange the marriages of both their children, Lady Redd and Sir Blu. Lady Redd and Sir Blu had beautiful PURPLE children. 

Now, Lady Magenta (Lady Redd’s Dark twin sister), was Sir Blu’s secret lover, however she was banished to live in a tower by their father, The Duke of Red because she was pregnant with Sir Blu’s babies!

Lol! I’m sure everyone is probably laughing their heads off, but I do hope you understand the theory behind the story, with the colour palettes to give a clearer understanding of the different hues that can be generated from combination of red and blue, and blue with magenta. I will talk about magenta another day, promise. But right now, it’s all about PURPLE!

In Nigeria, when you are told that the colour of the day for an event is Purple, its majorly associated with gold or silver. Purple is categorised and associated with royalty, nobility, death, Lent, Easter, Mardi Gras, upper class, poison, friendship,  passion, wisdom, rage, sympathy, wealth, sophistication etc.

With the above Purple colour palette, those shades of purple are usually confused as shades of red and pink. Trust me, I didn’t know either until I researched it. FYI, there is no burgundy in that family of magenta and blue purple, burgundy IS NOT related wine. They look alike, but don’t share the same combinations. In that family they have, mauve (which could also be called sangria), plum, wisteria, iris, wine, lilac, lavender, and indigo. Where’s violet I hear someone ask. It’s the last bottom box to the right in the colour palette of red and blue purple.

I also went searching for colours that could be mixed with all the shades of the purple family and I ended up registering to a colour lovers community called COLOURLovers, lol. I also found a blog with colour theories that helps with deriving colour themes from fabrics and general surroundings.

Now here are some purple shades mixed with OTHER colours other than the usual, gold, silver, and lilac.

I love this combo! Notice the difference in the shades of purple? See this inspiration board below.

Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise, purple and orange are lovely together! 

Wow! With all these colours popping everywhere I’m excited! Here is a link to the Knots wedding site, where i played around with purple pictures for a clients inspiration board. http://www.theknot.com/inspiration-boards/Gallery/Details/99080

I do hope you like these colour combos.  I’d love to hear from you soon. *kisses* and have a lovely week.

♥ J!

12 thoughts on “Purple’s Delight

    ChiChi said:
    May 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I never thought purple could look so pretty. Please can you talk about shades of green and yellow especially for a garden reception. Thanks.

    Great job, keep it up and God bless

      keziah's dew responded:
      May 23, 2012 at 11:13 am

      yes o chichi,

      i was once a hater of purple myself. but all that has changed now, HALLELUJAH! I see the Purple Light! Lol!

      i’m trying to open the minds of Naija peeps, by letting them know that purple doesn’t always have to be combined with gold, lilac or silver for what ever their occasion is.

      to your question, green and yellow are both lovely together. but again, the Nigerian “colour fear factor” comes to play. i don’t understand why we dislike green? LOL!
      hmm…next post, i’m going green :D! :))

      ♥ J!

    Tos-Tos said:
    May 23, 2012 at 11:59 am

    When I was shouting that purple and yellow were a lovely combination, back then in secondary school, people thought I was colour and combination blind..hahaha, how the tables have turned. Good job sis

      keziah's dew responded:
      May 23, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      Thank you Tos-Tos.
      I may have been one those that would have said you were colour blind. Now I beg differ and I eat my words. Lol!

      ♥ J!

    Ayoade said:
    May 23, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    This is quite educating. Now I know how τ̲̅ȍ mix my colour purple. When are you talkiing about pink and orange?

      keziah's dew responded:
      May 23, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Hi Ayoade,
      I glad you feel so. A pink and orange post will be up soon, I’ll notify you once its posted. However, for the mean time, you can check my earlier post on “Zesty Tangerine”. There are colour combinations of tangerine, lemon yellow and hot pink. Enjoy!

      ♥ J!

    funmi esan said:
    May 25, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I have always been a lover of purple, maybe cos I feel its one colour dat can never go wrong on a dark skinned person. Its very elegant wen its well put 2geda n now u have shown us we should’nt be afraid to go out of our comfort zone by mixing it wiv oda colors. Instead of d same old silver, gold & lilac theme we normally go for. Thanks a lot babe u’ve done well, keep up the good work.

      keziah's dew responded:
      May 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks Funmi!! I’m glad you recognised its purpose.

      ♥ J!

    fadhilah said:
    May 27, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I am in love with this particular post. Thank u for dedicating it to me, its also given me a better insight into the colour purple n made me love it more. Esp d path of wat purple symbolies, I only knew its associated with royalty n easter period now I know a lot more n I’m happy. Keep up the good work jumma, Love yaa. Can’t wait for the next Post.

      keziah's dew responded:
      May 27, 2012 at 6:24 pm

      Thank you FahLily! It was done for you with great pleasure! :*

      ♥ J!

    Christmas in Emerald Green! « i love 9ja o wan bé said:
    December 25, 2012 at 10:41 am

    […] Remember the last story I told you about how Purple Delight came to […]

    Poppy Red Valentine « i love 9ja o wan bé said:
    February 14, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    […] is a part of the 3 families in the Primary Colour Kingdom. Lol! Remember my stories on about the families of Blue, Redd, and Yellow? Anyway, Red is actually a […]

Leave a Reply

